

Socio-Legal Review

Volume 19 | Issue 1 2023

Front Matter

Socio-Legal Review

Follow this and additional works at: https://repository.nls.ac.in/slr

Custom Citation

Socio-Legal Review, 'Front Matter' (2023) 19(1) Socio-Legal Review i

This Front Matter is brought to you for free and open access by the NLSIU Scholarship Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in Socio-Legal Review by an authorized editor of Scholarship Repository.

Socio-Legal Review

Volume 19(1) | 2023

© Socio-Legal Review 2023

ISSN: 0973-5216

The mode of citation for this issue of Socio-Legal Review 2023 is as follows:

(2023) 19(1) Socio-Legal Review < Page Number>

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior written permission.

The articles in this issue may be reproduced and distributed, in whole or in part, by non-profit institutions for educational and research purposes provided that such use is fully acknowledged.

Published by:

National Law School of India University Nagarbhavi, Bangalore – 560072 Website: repository.nls.ac.in/slr Email: slr@nls.ac.in

Distributed exclusively by:

MPP House

87, 1st Cross, 1st Floor, TBR Complex

Gandhinagar, Bangalore-560009.

Phone: 080-22260706 / 22265901 / 41136866

Email: mpphouseblr@gmail.com

The views expressed by the contributors are personal and do not in any way represent the institution.

EDITORIAL BOARD 2022-23

Editor-in-Chief Apoorva Nangia

Deputy Editor-in-Chief Avantika Tewari

Editors

Anoushka Kothari Anubhav Mishra Anusha Sarkar Divya Sethuraman Khwaaish Kadiyan Manhar Bansal Niveditha K Prasad Pranav Kumar Vibha Swaminathan

Forum Editors
Aadi Belhe
Areeb Nabi
Hayden D'Souza
Sannah Mudbidri

Line Editors
Celine Cordeiro
Matilde Ribeiro
Nandini Sharma
Rishab Devaiah

Technical Editor
Gagan

Administrative Editor Pallavi Agarwal

BOARD OF ADVISORS

Hilary Charlesworth
Sankaran Krishna
Dipesh Chakraborthy
Nivedita Menon
H. Rajan Sharma
Sitaram Kakarala
Sanjoy Hazarika
Tejaswini Niranjana
Sudhir Krishnaswamy
Fiona A. Kumari Campbell
Upendra Baxi

CONTENTS

Editorialvi
Articles
Jurimetrics and Detention: Understanding the Supreme Court Through Detention Cases During the 1975 National Emergency
A Tribal Chief and a Colonial Legislation: The Excluded Areas Act of 1846
Deconstructing Police Discretion as Brahmanism
Case Comment
Janhit Abhiyan: Where Does It Lead Us?75 Dhruva Gandhi
Book Review
Victims' Access to Justice: Historical and Comparative Perspectives